SESSION 2 MSPS NOT STANDING OR NOT RETURNED IN THE 2007 ELECTION

42 members of the Scottish Parliament (MSPs) did not return to the Scottish Parliament in Session 3. They either did not stand as a candidate for re-election or they stood but were not re-elected.

This fact sheet is divided into two sections. The first section lists those MSPs who stood for re-election but failed to win a seat. The second section lists those MSPs who were serving at the end of the second parliamentary session (2 April 2007) but chose not to stand for re-election.

Abbreviation Party

Con Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Green Scottish Green Party

Ind Independent

Lab Scottish Labour

LD Scottish Liberal Democrats

NPA No Party Affiliation

SNP Scottish National Party

SSCUP Scottish Senior Citizens Unity Party

SSP Scottish Socialist Party

Sol Solidarity Group

Scottish Parliament Fact sheet

MSPs: Historical Series

19 August 2008



MSPs that stood for re-election but failed to win a seat

Nama	Dortu	Constituency or Degion
Name	Party	Constituency or Region
Andrew Arbuckle	LD	Mid Scotland and Fife
Shiona Baird	Green	North East Scotland
Mark Ballard	Green	Lothians
Scott Barrie	Lab	Dunfermline West
Chris Ballance	Green	South of Scotland
Rosemary Byrne	Sol	South of Scotland
Frances Curran ¹	SSP	West of Scotland
David Davidson	Con	North East Scotland
Colin Fox	SSP	Lothians
Gordon Jackson	Lab	Glasgow Govan
Sylvia Jackson	Lab	Stirling
Margaret Jamieson	Lab	Kilmarnock & Loudoun
Rosie Kane	SSP	Glasgow
Carolyn Leckie	SSP	Central Scotland
George Lyon	LD	Argyll & Bute
Maureen Macmillan	Lab	Ross, Skye & Inverness West
Campbell Martin	Ind	Cunninghame North
Christine May	Lab	Central Fife
Alasdair Morrison	Lab	Western Isles
Bristow Muldoon	Lab	Livingston
Dave Petrie	Con	Highlands & Islands
Nora Radcliffe	LD	Gordon
Euan Robson	LD	Roxburgh & Berwickshire
Mark Ruskell	Green	Mid Scotland and Fife
Eleanor Scott	Green	Highlands & Islands
Tommy Sheridan	Sol	Glasgow
John Swinburne	SSCUP	Central Scotland
Murray Tosh	Con	South of Scotland

_

Jean Turner

Allan Wilson

Strathkelvin and Bearsden

Cunninghame North

Ind

Lab

¹ On 29 March 2007 it was announced in Debating Chamber that Frances Curran was retiring from the Scottish Parliament. However, she did appear as a candidate on the SPP regional list for West of Scotland. Her placement as 4th on the list reflected her wish to retire.

MSPs that did not stand for re-election

Name	Party	Constituency or Region
Dennis Canavan	Ind	Falkirk West
Susan Deacon	Lab	Edinburgh East and Musselburgh
Lord James Douglas-Hamilton	Con	Lothians
Phil Gallie	Con	South of Scotland
Donald Gorrie	LD	Central Scotland
John Home Robertson	Lab	East Lothian
Janis Hughes	Lab	Glasgow Rutherglen
Kate Maclean	Lab	Dundee West
Bruce McFee	SNP	West of Scotland
Brian Monteith	Ind	Mid-Scotland and Fife
George Reid	NPA ²	Ochil
Jim Wallace	LD	Orkney

² Elected as SNP, George Reid resigned from the SNP when he was appointed to the post of Presiding Officer

Contacting the Public Information Service

For more information you can visit our website at http://www.scottish.parliament.uk or contact the Public Information Service.

_•	Address	Public Information Service	
_	Auuless	i ubiic iiiioiiiialioii bei vice	

The Scottish Parliament

Edinburgh EH99 1SP

① Telephone 0131 348 5000

0800 092 7500 (Public Enquiries)

Fòn 0131 348 5395 (Gàidhlig)

Textphone users can contact us on **0800 092 7100.** We also

welcome calls using the RNID Typetalk service

Fax 0131 348 5601

Text 07786 209888

@ Email sp.info@scottish.parliament.uk

Website www.scottish.parliament.uk